CityLit Project

Remembering Former Board Member Carole Evitts

Join Our Mailing List to Stay Informed About Our News and Events

National Endowments for the Arts
MSAC: Vibrant Dazzling Diverse Engaging
Baltimore Promotion and The Arts
BCF Baltimore
University of Baltimore
Art Works - National Endowment for the Arts
See our other generous supporters here.

Proud Member of:


Weaver to Judge 5th Annual Harriss Poetry Prize

Winning poet will receive $500 cash prize, publication by CityLit Press, and 50 free copies of professionally designed and published chapbook. Click "read more" for list of past winners. Postmark deadline: October 1, 2013.

Clarinda Harriss Poetry Prize and Chapbook Competition

CITYLIT PROJECT announces the Fifth Annual Harriss Poetry Prize (chapbook). Judge: Afaa Michael Weaver. The prize is named in honor of Clarinda Harriss, eminent Maryland poet, publisher, and professor of English at Towson University. Send $15 entry fee and manuscript of 25-30 pages of poetry with table of contents, acknowledgments, and two coversheets (one with title only) to Harriss Poetry Prize, c/o CityLit Project, 120 S. Curley Street, Baltimore, MD 21224. All submissions must be postmarked before October 1. Winner receives publication by CityLit Press, $500, and 50 copies. Complete guidelines at

Submission Guidelines

1. This chapbook competition is open to any poet who has not had a full-length book of poetry published by a professional press (previous chapbook publications are okay). CityLit Project staff, interns, board members, and their immediate family are ineligible.

2. Send one (1) copy of a single manuscript, one submission per poet. Manuscripts must be typed and available in electronic format. Submit no fewer than twenty-five (25) and no more than thirty (30) pages of poetry. All poems must be original (translations are not accepted).

3. Manuscripts must be unbound. Use binder clips or paper clips (no staples).

4. Include on separate pagesa. A cover sheet listing poet’s name, mailing address, contact telephone number, email address (important for acknowledging receipt and notifications), and collection title. Author’s name should not appear on any pages within the manuscript.b. List of acknowledgments of previously published poems (if applicable).c. Brief one paragraph brief bio not to exceed 200 words. d. Separate page with title of collection only (to be forwarded to the final judge).

5. Manuscripts will not be returned; after the winner has been selected, all other manuscripts will be recycled. Please do not send your only copy.

6. Simultaneous submission to other awards should be noted. Immediate notice upon winning an award is required.

7. Entry Fee: $15 (made payable to CityLit Project) along with submission to: Harriss Poetry Prize c/o CityLit Project120 S. Curley Street, Baltimore, MD 21224


Postmark Deadline: October 1 (annually). Notification: Winner will be notified in February with the winning chapbook published in the Spring.Prize Winner: The winner of the Clarinda Harriss Poetry Prize receives $500, publication by CityLit Press, and 50 copies of the winning chapbook.

Prize Honoree: Clarinda Harriss teaches poetry, poetic structure, and editing, and, for decades, has been the faculty adviser to Grub Street, Towson University’s literary magazine, which has recently won both Gold and Silver Awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. Harriss chaired the Towson University English Department for a decade before stepping down to concentrate fully on writing and teaching. Harriss, educated at Johns Hopkins University and Goucher College, is a widely published, award-winning poet (her most recent collections are Dirty Blue Voice and Mortmain, both published by Half Moon Editions) and, off campus, serves as editor/director of BrickHouse Books, Inc., Maryland’s oldest literary press.Clarinda’s poems as well as her essays and reviews appear frequently in magazines and newspapers both locally and internationally. She is also the co-author of two academic texts: Forms of Verse: British and American, and Crofts’ Classics’ edition of The Pearl, a translation using the complicated original verse form, of a book-length Medieval poem. One of her main research interests is writing by prison inmates.

2013 Winner: Rebekah Remington (Catonsville, MD), Asphalt
Judge: Marie Howe

2012 Winner: Katherine Bogden (Brooklyn, NY), Every Bit of It
Judge: Tom Lux

2011 Winner: Bruce Sager (Westminster, MD), Famous
Judge: Dick Allen

2010 Winner: Laura Shovan (Ellicott City, MD), Mountain, Log, Salt, and Stone
Judge: Michael Salcman

Prize Sponsor: CityLit ProjectCityLit Project builds enthusiasm for the literary arts in the Baltimore metropolitan area and across Maryland for the benefit of readers, writers, and diverse audiences of all ages. Its signature event—CityLit Festival—was selected “Best of Baltimore” by Baltimore magazine in 2005 and 2009, and is now a “can’t miss event on the city’s cultural scene.” In 2010, the magazine noted that CityLit Project “has blossomed into a local treasure on a variety of fronts—especially its public programming and workshops—and it recently added a publishing imprint {CityLit Press} to its list of minor miracles.”
Click here to download PDF

back to news

© Copyright 2019 CityLit Project | Created and Powered by Mission Media