CityLit Project

CityLit Festival Postponed Due to the Coronavirus Outbreak

Make a Donation to CityLit!

National Endowments for the Arts
MSAC: Vibrant Dazzling Diverse Engaging
Baltimore Promotion and The Arts
BCF Baltimore
University of Baltimore
Art Works - National Endowment for the Arts
See our other generous supporters here.

Proud Member of:


CHAPBOOK CONTEST: The Clarinda Harriss Poetry Prize

PLEASE NOTE: The Harriss Poetry Prize has been on a three-year hiatus, but the next deadline for submissions will be April 1, 2018.

Prize money for the Harriss Poetry Prize is $500 and, in addition to publication, the winner receives 50 gratis copies! The winner receives a cash prize, free copies, wholesale distribution through both Ingram and Baker & Taylor, and on-line retail pages at,, and other sources.

Launched in 2009, the Harriss Poetry Prize is named in honor of Clarinda Harriss, eminent Baltimore poet, publisher, and professor of English at Towson University.  Harriss, educated at Johns Hopkins University and Goucher College, is a widely published, award-winning poet and, off campus, serves as editor/director of BrickHouse Books, Inc., Maryland’s oldest literary press.

2014 Winner: Danuta E. Kosk-Kosicka (Catonsville, MD)
Oblige the Light

Judge: Michael Salcman
Buy the Book!

2013 Winner: Rebekah Remington (Catonsville, MD)
Judge: Marie Howe
Buy the Book!

2012 Winner: Katherine Bogden (Brooklyn, NY)
Every Bit of It
Judge: Tom Lux
Buy the Book!

2011 Winner:
Bruce Sager (Westminster, MD)
Judge: Dick Allen
Buy the Book!

2010 Winner: Laura Shovan (Ellicott City, MD)
Mountain, Log, Salt, and Stone
Judge: Michael Salcman
Buy the Book!

Harriss Poetry Prize Series Editor: Michael Salcman
Click here to download PDF

back to news

© Copyright 2020 CityLit Project | Created and Powered by Mission Media